Welcome to China Association of Microfinance !

ABOUT CAM

Current Location: Home About CAM Introduction of CAM

China Association of Microfinance

The China Association of Microfinance (hereinafter referred to as CAM) is the first national member-based association in microfinance sector in China, and it introduced and promoted the concept of inclusive finance, which has been written in the resolution of the third plenary session of 18th Central Committee of CPC and also become the focus of the State Council in the field of financial reform. CAM advocates for the practice in rural finance and supports the development of public-interest microfinance institutions, being recognized by all the parties. CAM took a lead to set up a self-discipline committee of P2P and has a wide influence in the field of microfinance and inclusive finance.

As an effective method for poverty alleviation and a financial innovation, microfinance has experienced ten-year process of experimentation, demonstration and expansion. As we know, most of the very first domestic MFIs engaging in microfinance experiments are those non-government organizations (hereinafter referred to as NGOs) or non-profit organizations (hereinafter referred to as NPOs), relying on the aid from international institutions or the support from the local governments. Although these MFIs have played an active role in facilitating the development of microfinance in China and made a great contribution for poverty alleviation, they can hardly achieve sustainability owing to the restriction by policy and law, the constraint about their own system and capability, and the insufficiency of fund sources etc. We believe that microfinance, as an effective measure for poverty reduction, is unable to realize its sustainable development and exert its lasting function until it is included in the whole framework of financial reform and development of China.

In the domestic microfinance workshops during the early 2000, some researchers and practitioners of microfinance put forward a suggestion to set up a guild or a network for many times, the voice of which was higher especially in the international workshop of microfinance held in Beijing in September of 2003. The relevant domestic departments and international organizations attached importance to this suggestion, subsequently, UNDP assisted the People’s Bank of China (hereinafter referred to as PBC) to complete microfinance policy research report, in which the supervisory policy pertaining to microfinance guild was raised, which advised the guild to conduct self-discipline and the government to offer certain policy guidance. At the end of 2003, in order to accommodate the development needs of microfinance and with reference to the advice in the policy research report of PBC, Rural Development Institute (hereinafter referred to as RDI) of China Academy of Social Sciences (hereinafter referred to as CASS) that was the earliest one to undertake microfinance experimentation, demonstration and research in China, and China International Center for Economic and Technical Exchanges (hereinafter referred to as CICETE) that governed foreign-aid microfinance program with the largest scale in China, decided to initiate the formation of microfinance guild or network in China, and later obtained strong support from Development Department of All-China Women Federation (hereinafter referred to as ACWF). After requesting the opinion of the Ministry of Civil Affairs, RDI of CASS, CICETE and ACWF, with the fund support of Citi, jointly set up the CAM in November, 2005.

At the general assembly of CAM held on September 17, 2010, all the members present reached a consensus on the Chinese name change of CAM. At the early stage, CAM’s members mainly comprised public-interest microfinance institutions for poverty alleviation. With the development of microfinance in China, CAM has gradually absorbed financial institutions involving in microfinance business, such as commercial banks and microfinance companies. As of December 31, 2016, there were 176 formal members, covering 27 provinces and cities across the country.

Since its setup, CAM has maintained a close relationship and cooperation with policy and regulatory departments like PBC and China Banking Regulatory Commission (hereinafter referred to as CBRC), and undertaken lots of activities in the fields of policy advocacy, self-regulation, training and technical assistance, information exchanges and fundraising services, serving its members in an effective way. With the support of Citi Network Strengthening Program, the governance structure and service level of CAM have been improved. The annual conference and Global Microentrepreneurship Award held by CAM every year have been regarded as significant events in China’s microfinance sector and also been marked as the brand events of CAM.

Under the background of globalization, CAM defines microcredit as credit services provided to the poor and low-income people and microenterprises and then expands the definition of microcredit services to microfinance field including savings, money transfer and insurance by referring to the international microfinance development and rule. While focusing on the financial services targeting the lower-end population, CAM also actively promotes the construction of inclusive financial sectors offering complete financial services to all levels of people and strives to include microfinance into inclusive financial sectors.

Vision of CAM

To become a representative and sustainable association providing high-quality services to its member institutions and the microfinance industry in China.

Mission of CAM

To offer inclusive financial services to financially under-serviced groups (especially the poor and low-income populations) and to promote the establishment of a harmonious society through providing services and support to its member institutions and enhancing the outreach and sustainability of MFIs as well as the overall capacity and level of the microfinance sector.

Functions of CAM

Policy Advocacy: To promote the improvement of financial policy and regulatory framework in favor of microfinance development by the way of policy research, propaganda and dialogue.

Self-Discipline:To carry out self-regulation and promote the openness, transparency and standardization of financial and social performance indicators by disseminating industrial standards, institutional assessment and rating.

Training & Research:To provide demand-driven training and research to its members and the whole industry so as to improve the management and operation capacity of MFIs.

Information Exchanges: To set up the website of China’s microfinance gateway, publish publications and collections, organize annual conferences and workshops as well as field visits so as to facilitate information exchanges.

Fundraising Service: To undertake investment workshops and help its members to raise funds.

欢迎浏览中国小额信贷联盟!

关于联盟About CAM

当前位置: 首页 关于联盟 联盟简介

中国小额信贷联盟 China Association of Microfinance

中国小额信贷联盟,简称联盟,英文名称:China Association of Microfinance (CAM),其前身是“中国小额信贷发展促进网络”,是中国小额信贷领域最早的全国性会员制协会组织。其引进并推动的普惠金融理念已经写入十八届三中全会决议,并成为国务院在金融改革领域的重点工作。 联盟坚持农村金融领域实践,支持公益小额信贷机构发展,得到各方面赞赏。联盟率先在国内成立互联网P2P行业自律委员会,在普惠金融和小额信贷领域具有广泛的影响力。

小额信贷作为一种有效的扶贫方式和一种金融创新,在中国经历了十多年的实验、示范和推广过程。众所周知,作为最初一批从事小额信贷实验的国内小额信贷机构大部分是依靠国际组织援助或当地政府支持建立起来的一些非政府、非营利的组织,它们为中国小额信贷的发展起了积极的推动作用,为扶贫事业做出了很大贡献。但是由于政策及法律方面的限制、小额信贷机构自身体制和能力的局限以及资金来源不足等方面原因,这些机构很难可持续发展。我们认为,作为一种有效扶贫手段的小额信贷,只有纳入我国金融改革和发展的整体框架,才能可持续发展,也才能有长效的作用。

在2000年初期国内有关小额信贷的研讨会上,小额信贷的研究者和实践者们多次提出成立行业协会(或网络)的建议,尤其是在2003年9月于北京召开的小额信贷国际研讨会上此呼声更高,并得到了国内有关部门和有关国际机构的重视,在联合国开发计划署(UNDP)资助的人民银行完成的小额信贷政策研究报告中就提出了成立小额信贷行业协会的监管政策。建议由小额信贷行业协会实行行业自律,政府提供一定的政策引导。2003年底,为适应小额信贷发展的需要,参考人民银行政策研究报告的建议,作为最早开展小额信贷实验示范及研究的中国社会科学院农村发展研究所和管理着国内规模最大的外援小额信贷项目的商务部中国国际经济技术交流中心决定发起成立中国小额信贷行业协会(或网络)。后又得到全国妇联发展部的大力支持。经征求民政部意见,2005年11月在花旗基金会的资金支持下,中国社会科学院农村发展研究所、商务部中国国际经济技术交流中心和全国妇联妇女发展部联合发起成立了“中国小额信贷发展促进网络”。

在2010年9月17日召开的中国小额信贷发展促进网络的年会上,经出席会员代表大会的全体会员机构代表一致通过,将“中国小额信贷发展促进网络”正式更名为“中国小额信贷联盟”。联盟成立初期,会员主要由公益性质的扶贫小额信贷组织构成,随着中国小额信贷行业的发展,联盟逐渐吸收了从事小额信贷业务的商业银行和小额贷款公司等机构作为其会员。 截止2016年12月31日,联盟的正式会员机构为176家,覆盖全国27个省市。

自成立以来,联盟与人民银行和银监会等政策和监管部门保持着密切的联系与合作,在政策倡导、行业自律、培训与技术支持、信息交流和筹资服务等领域开展了大量工作,为会员提供了卓有成效的服务。在花旗网络能力建设项目的支持下,联盟自身的治理结构和服务水平也得到了改善和提高。每年举办的年会和花旗微型创业奖已成为中国小额信贷领域备受关注的重大活动,也是联盟的品牌性活动。

在全球化背景下,联盟参考国际小额信贷发展状况和规律,将小额信贷定义成为贫困、低收入人群和微型企业提供的信贷服务,并进而将小额信贷服务拓展到包括储蓄、汇款和保险在内的微型金融领域。在关注低端人群金融服务的同时,联盟也积极促进为所有阶层提供全方位金融服务的普惠金融体系的建设,并努力将微型金融纳入普惠金融体系之内。

联盟愿景

成为一个有代表性的、可持续的、向会员机构和整个行业提供高质量服务的行业协会。

联盟宗旨

通过为会员机构提供服务和支持,提高小额信贷机构的覆盖面和可持续性以及行业的整体能力和水平,为没有充分享受金融服务的群体(特别是贫困和低收入人群)提供普惠金融服务,促进和谐社会建设。

联盟职能

政策倡导:通过政策研究、宣传、对话等方式,促进有利于小额信贷与普惠金融发展的金融政策和监管框架的改善。

行业自律:通过推广行业标准、机构评估、评级开展行业自律,促进财务和社会绩效指标的公开、透明和规范化。

培训研究:为会员机构和整个行业提供以需求为导向的培训和技术支持,从而提高小额信贷从业机构的管理和运营能力。

信息交流:建立中国小额信贷门户网站,出版刊物和文集,组织年会、研讨会、考察和访问等活动,促进行业内外、国际国内的信息交流。

筹资服务:开展筹资推介活动,为会员机构筹集资金。